drivers nabbed for cruising 25 mph or more above the speed limit
could be hit with a $500 fine under legislation approved by the
state Senate on March 26.
Under SB660, people going 25 mph over the limit could be hit with
a fine ranging from $200 to $500. The fine for exceeding that limit
now is capped at $200.
Texas leads the nation in traffic fatalities with 38 percent of
those deaths being the result of excessive speeding, bill sponsor
Sen. Steve Ogden, R-College Station, told KTRK television.
Ogden said statistics show a greater chance of accident and injury
in cases where people are going 25 mph more than the speed limit.
Under the new legislation, a municipality or county would be required
to send $200 of each fine collected for these excessive speeding
violations to the state for a Texas Department of Transportation
The bill now heads to the House for consideration.