Virginia Gov. Bob Wise’s touted 0.08 drunken driving proposal was
turned down over the weekend as state Legislators passed on the
bill before the legislative session ended Saturday.
called for lowering the state’s blood-alcohol level for drunken
driving from 0.10 percent blood alcohol content to 0.08 percent.
2000 federal law requires each state’s legislature to adopt the
0.08 limit by 2004 or lose 2 percent of its highway money.
House of Delegates had put the drunken driving provision in the
bill with other safety measures that some senators found unacceptable,
the Charleston Daily Mail reported. Senate Transportation
Chairman Mike Ross, D-Randolph, said March 7 that his committee
wouldn’t sign off on the bill, even though failure to lower the
blood-alcohol level could cost the state $2.5 million a year in
federal highway dollars.
to prohibit children under age 16 from riding in the beds of pickup
trucks and to make failure to wear a seat belt a primary rather
than a secondary offense “bogged the whole bill down,” Ross told
the newspaper, and it was too late in the session to separate the
drunken driving provision from the rest of the bill.
Virginia is among 16 states yet to adopt the tougher drunken driving