hearing is scheduled for March 3 on a bill in California that would
require anyone who uses a cell phone while driving to have a hands-free
device. AB45, which was introduced by California Assemblyman Joe
Simitian, would set the fines for not having one of the devices
at $20 for the first offense and $50 for every subsequent offense.
Like many other cell phone proposals across the country, it makes
an exception for people using the phones to make an emergency call.