The Wyoming House Feb.
6 passed a measure aimed at cutting down on carloads of teen-agers
and late-night joyriding while stepping up their training
The state is one of
four states without a graduated driver’s license law; the
others are Kansas, Montana and Oklahoma.
“This one law has proven
to have the greatest impact of reducing teen driving fatalities,” the
bill’s co-sponsor, Rep. Harry Tipton, told Land Line. “Other
states that have adopted similar laws have seen as much as
a 26 percent reduction in crashes by teen drivers. In Wyoming,
this would represent three lives a year and 172 accidents.”
HB80 would require completion
of a driver’s education course or at least 50 hours driving
under adult supervision – including at least 10 hours of
The proposal would prohibit
teens from being behind the wheel between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older, driving
to and from work, school or religious activities or in an
Teens would not be allowed
to transport multiple passengers under 21 unless accompanied
by a licensed driver 21 or older.
At age 17, the driving
restriction would be lifted, provided the teen had no prior
violations, which would delay full driving privileges one
The bill next heads
to the state Senate.
by Keith Goble,