New Jersey Gov. James McGreevey said he will introduce legislation
this fall to make the Garden State the second state in the nation
to ban motorists from using hand-held cell phones while driving.
going to submit legislation to require drivers to use only hands-free
cell phones," McGreevey told the Star Ledger. Holding phones
has been documented as a distraction that causes accidents, he
gets his bill through, New Jersey would join New York as the only
states prohibiting hand-held cell phones. Drivers would still
be allowed to use speakerphones, headsets or earpieces and could
violate the ban in emergencies or to dial 9-1-1.
possible statute, fines would mirror New York law, in that first-time
violators face a $100 fine, a second conviction would cost $200
and every violation after that is $500. The infraction would not
carry penalty points and drivers could have fees waived if they
show proof of purchase for a hands-free device.