Bush appointee sworn in as NTSB chair

| 9/28/2001

Marion Blakey was sworn in Wednesday as chair of the National Transportation Safety Board, the first Bush administration appointee to serve on the board. The safety board is responsible for investigating transportation accidents and making safety recommendations.

Blakey was administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration from 1992-1993. After leaving NHTSA, she spent the past eight years running a public affairs consulting firm in Washington, DC, (Blakey and Associates) that concentrated on transportation issues and traffic safety.

Her current term as NTSB chairman runs through September 2003, while her term on the board expires in December 2005.

Blakey replaced Carol Carmody, who became the acting chair after Jim Hall left the agency in January. Carmody remains on the five-member board, whose members also include John Goglia, George Black and John Hammerschmidt.