OOIDA spring Board of Directors meeting planned for April 22-25

By Land Line staff | 4/10/2015

The OOIDA Board of Directors is scheduled to meet April 22-25 at the Association’s headquarters in Grain Valley, Mo. The full Board meets twice a year to conduct OOIDA’s business and set strategies for the Association’s target-level issues.

President Jim Johnston will preside. Johnston has been president of OOIDA since the end of 1974. He is the third president in OOIDA’s 42-year history and also serves as Chief Executive Officer of the Association’s business entities.

Currently serving as officers of the Board are Executive Vice President Todd Spencer of Oak Grove, Mo.; General Vice President Woody Chambers of Eddyville, Ky.; Secretary Robert Esler of Taylor, Mich., and Treasurer William Rode of Eagle, Idaho.

Board Members are: Gary Green, Kansas City, Kan.; Leland Wilkins, St. Charles, Mich., Mark Elrod, Peru, Ind.; Kenneth Becker, Montgomery, Texas; Lewie Pugh, Freeport, Ohio; Terry Button, Rushville, N.Y.; Gary Carr, Wayne, Maine; Jack McComb, Littleton, Colo.; Steve Davenport, Lewisville, Texas; Lou Esposito, Duanesburg, N.Y.; Miles Verhoef, Saco, Mont.; Johanne Couture, Brockville, Ontario; Steve Bixler, Valley View, Pa., Keith Jibben, Milbank, S.D.; Dick Pingel, Plover, Wis., and Bryan Spoon, Grandy, N.C.

At the meeting this month, the newly elected alternate Board members will be sworn in. They are Life Member Tilden E. Curl Jr., Olympia, Wash.; Life Member David Jungeblut, Sibley, Mo.; Senior Member John Koglman from Oberlin, Ohio; Senior Member Paul Storz, Independence, Mo., and Life Member Monte Wiederhold, Lebanon, Ohio. Alternates are elected by and from the membership for two-year terms. The nominations are made by the membership and elected by the votes of the membership.

Two employees of OOIDA serve as members of the Board. Last month, in a meeting of the Association’s managers and supervisors, Sandi Soendker was reelected as full Board member for another three year term. Soendker has been employed by OOIDA since 1987. She is editor-in-chief of Land Line Magazine. Donna Ryun was reelected as alternate Board member. Ryun joined the staff at headquarters in 1989 and serves as manager of OOIDA’s Communications Department.

Editor’s note: The Association has honored some former Board members with the title of director emeritus. They are John Taylor, Cross Junction, Va.; Ralph Fries, Escondido, Calif.; Fred Barnes, Kansas City, Mo.; Don Phipps, Ames, Iowa, and Charles Parfrey, Spokane, Wash.

Copyright © OOIDA