Wyoming law takes effect July 1; doubles certain truck fees

| 6/20/2008

Starting July 1, a new law on the books in Wyoming will boost the fees charged per mile traveled for oversized and overweight trucks in the state.

Approved during this year’s regular session and signed by Gov. Dave Freudenthal, the new law increases the oversize single trip permit fee for overweight trucks from $15 to $30. The minimum fee for an overweight vehicle permit will increase from $25 to $50.

When an overweight permit is issued, the fee will increase from 4 cents to 6 cents for each ton or fraction thereof of weight in excess of the weight limitation for each mile traveled on the highways.

A fiscal analysis reports the fee increases are expected to generate $3.5 million in fiscal year 2009, growing to $4.2 million in fiscal year 2011 and each year thereafter. The revenue will be earmarked for the state’s highway fund.

To view other legislative activities of interest for Wyoming in 2008, click here.

– By Keith Goble, state legislative editor