A bill in the New Jersey Assembly is intended to help curb road rage. Dubbed “Jessica’s Law,” the measure would make such offenses as tailgating and making obscene gestures while driving primary offenses.
Sponsored by Assemblywoman Linda Greenstein, D-Monroe, the bill would allow police to cite drivers for engaging in a pattern of aggressive driving – defined as two or more violations occurring at the same time.
Under the measure, it would be illegal for motorists to make audible verbal threats, flash headlights, use demeaning gestures or other such actions directed at persons driving lawfully, Greenstein wrote.
This is the second year in a row Greenstein has pursued the effort. A year ago, the bill advanced from committee but didn’t come up for consideration before the full Assembly.
The effort is named for Jessica Rogers of Hamilton, NJ. Rogers suffered severe injuries and was paralyzed from the neck down following a March 2005 wreck that resulted from an incident with another vehicle. The driver of the vehicle she was riding in hit a pole while trying to catch a car that cut him off. The driver was sentenced to six months in jail and five years probation.
“Drivers who put their own selfish needs before the safety of the public must be held accountable,” Greenstein said in a written statement.
If signed into law, driving aggressively could net first-time offenders a 15- to 30-day license suspension and/or attendance in an anger management class. Anyone foolish enough to do it again could lose their licenses for two to four months and/or pay up to $3,000 fines.
If aggressive driving results in serious bodily injury to another person, violators could face up to five years in prison and/or $15,000 fines.
The bill – A1561 – is in the Assembly Judiciary Committee.
To view other legislative activities of interest for New Jersey in 2008, click here.
– By Keith Goble, state legislative editor