new Oregon state law went into effect Sept. 1 that increases the
state’s maximum fines and base fines for traffic violations by
as much as 40 percent, the state Transportation Department reported.
maximum fine for a Class D traffic violation goes from $77 to
$94, up 22 percent. Class D violations include exceeding maximum
length, height or width without an over-dimension variance permit.
Class C violation rises from $109 to $141, up 29 percent. These
violations include failing to carry or use tire chains when required.
fine for a Class B violation went from $175 to $237, up 35 percent.
Class B violations include driving a commercial vehicle without
a CDL or exceeding CDL restrictions.
A violations will increase from $295 to $421, up 43 percent. Common
violations include operating without an Oregon weight receipt
and tax identifier, operating with an invalid Oregon certificate
of permit or operating in excess of a declared weight.
amends previous law to change the way a base fine is calculated,
making it 50 percent of the maximum fine rather than 40 percent.
It also increases by $2 the unitary assessment that is part of
the base fine.
from the increased fines will help restore $27 million worth of
previously cut public-safety programs, The Associated Press reported.