than 130,000 drivers have received tickets for driving while on
the cell phone in New York state, The Associated Press reported
news service said enforcement and ads by telecommunications companies
are beginning to get the message out to drivers about the danger
of driving and calling.
York is the only state to ban cell phone use while behind the wheel.
Other states are considering proposals, but none have passed yet.
for example, is considering SB555, which would increase penalties
for drivers who violate traffic laws while chatting on a cell phone.
The bill would add a point to a driver’s license if use of the phone
contributed to an infraction.
Island and California considered, then killed bills designed to
cut back on cell phone use behind the wheel.
Rhode Island, H6524 would have prohibited anyone under 18 from chatting
on the phone while driving – even if they were using a hands-free
device. And in California, AB45 called for violators to be fined
$20 if they didn’t use a hands-free device. subsequent offenses
would have cost drivers $50 a shot.