Independent contractors honored

| 7/30/2002

OOIDA members were among the winners of the 2001 Truckload Carriers Association 15th Annual Independent Contractor of the Year Awards. The awards recognized top independent truckdrivers for safe and reliable service.

OOIDA member Scott E. McCurry, Eagle Grove, IA, of Umthun Trucking Co., received the grand prize. Lanny and Connie Beyer, Hancock, MN, leased to Midwest Coast Transport, took third place. Other winners were Patricia A. Rauschnot, Emerald, WI, Dart Transit Co. (2nd Place); Henry E. Shriver, Eagle Grove, IA, Umthun Trucking Co. (4th Place); and Earl Faro, Trout Creek, MT, Sammons Trucking (5th Place).

Rand McNally's transportation data management subsidiary sponsored the awards. The sponsorships included cash prizes as well as business software. Winners were selected based on criteria that included the operators' ability to run a successful business, to operate in a safe manner and to enhance the public image of the trucking industry.