OOIDA directors endow $250,000 to scholarship fund; Recipients of the 2002 awards announced

| 6/10/2002

Money recovered by OOIDA's legal action against the state of Alabama for unlawful taxation of truckers has yielded a windfall that will benefit the families of OOIDA members. After recovered funds were distributed to trucking claimants, a portion of the undeliverable money was awarded to the OOIDA Foundation. During the recent spring meeting, the OOIDA Board of Directors sent that money to the membership by allocating a quarter-of-a-million-dollar endowment to be used to expand the Foundation's scholarship program.

The OOIDA Foundation, Inc., is the association's research and education arm.

"This is the beginning of what we hope will be a much larger fund through member and corporate membership contributions," said Todd Spencer, OOIDA vice president and scholarship committee chairman. Spencer said the scholarship committee will develop a budget and long-range plan for growth when it meets again in the fall.

In other scholarship business, the OOIDA Board of Directors selected the five winners for this year's scholarship awards program. The OOIDA Board also adopted a resolution to expand the program by approving one additional $1,000 award.

The first place winner for the 2002 scholarship awards program is Tierney Lynn Chabot of Kalispell, MT; second place is Phillip Duncan of Ritzville, WA; third is James Bryan Jr. of West Grove, PA; fourth place and is Heather Janofski of Marquette, MI; and fifth place is Jennifer Lee Kildow of Fife Lake, MI.

First, second and third place winners will each receive a $1,000 scholarship. Fourth and fifth place winners will each receive $500. OOIDA scholarships are renewable for up to four years.

More information on this year's scholarship recipients and the winning essay will be included in Land Line's August/September issue.
--K. Goble & S. Soendker