XM wins tech award

| 4/24/2002

The Truck Writers of North America group has selected XM Satellite Radio as winner of its 12th Annual Technical Achievement Award. A trophy was presented to Neil Eastman, XM's vice president, advanced applications, by TWNA president and award committee chairman Rolf Lockwood. The award was presented during the recent meeting of the Technology & Maintenance Council in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

For the benefit of TWNA members who couldn't attend TMC, a second presentation of the award was made during the Mid-America Trucking Show in Louisville, Kentucky. Accepting on that occasion was Matt Dillon, director of OEM accounts at XM.

Second place was won by Nexiq Technologies for its revolutionary eTechnician remote vehicle diagnostics tool, while third place was won jointly by Truck-Lite and Intra Technologies for their headlamp-life extender.

Other finalists included Michelin's X-One tire and Hendrickson's Airtek front suspension. The award is intended to celebrate technical excellence, to honor a new product or service introduced within a given calendar year that improves business life for the truck operators of North America.

The winner must have the potential to have a broad effect on the trucking industry. XM Satellite Radio, which competed against other entries from calendar year 2001, fulfills those criteria admirably. It's the first TWNA award winner that isn't an example of excellence in the hardware of trucking, said Lockwood.

Previous victors have included engines, transmissions, tires, mufflers, and lights, among others. The very first TWNA Technical Achievement Award was won in 1990 by Grote Industries for the industry's first LED lamp. Grote has sponsored the winner's trophy every year since then. TWNA is comprised of mostly journalists writing about the North American trucking industry in various media, as well as many public relations professionals who join as associate members.

Nominations for the Technical Achievement Award can be made by any TWNA member, but the winner is ultimately chosen by a select committee of veteran journalists.

This year's judges were Paul Abelson, John Baxter, Tom Berg, Tom Gelinas, Bill Hudgins, Wendy Leavitt, Steve Sturgess, Tom Kelley and Rolf Lockwood.