OOIDA's state watch

By Keith Goble, state legislative editor


Gov. John Hickenlooper vetoed two bills that cover ticket cameras. SB276 sought to ban the use of photo enforcement. HB1098 called for forbidding the use of red-light and speed cameras unless voters authorize their use.

The governor did sign into law a bill to have a special panel of state lawmakers study whether to require personal vehicles to have snow tires or tire chains during certain times of the year while traveling along a stretch of Interstate 70 in the state’s high country.


A new law prohibits departments from forcing police to issue a certain number of tickets to meet a mandate. Previously SB264, the new law limits to 33 percent the amount of traffic fine revenue that counties or municipalities can keep.


Gov. Jay Nixon signed into law a bill that lowers from 30 percent to 20 percent (12.5 percent for communities in St. Louis County) the amount of traffic fine revenue municipalities can keep. Cities or towns that receive more are required to turn it over to the state. Communities that fail to send all excess revenue to county schools could face disincorporation via a public vote. SB5 also limits traffic fine amounts at no more than $300.


One new law authorizes the Montana DOT to raise the speed limit for cars from 75 mph to 80 mph on non-urban stretches of interstate. Trucks will be kept at their current 65 mph speed limit. Previously SB375, the new law takes effect Oct. 1.


The Legislature voted to override Gov. Pete Ricketts’ veto of a bill to increase the state’s fuel tax rate by

6 cents per gallon over four years to 31.6 cents. LB610 will earmark one-half cent of the annual rate increases for the Department of Roads. The other penny increase each year will be divided between cities and counties for local projects.


Gov. Brian Sandoval signed into law a bill to authorize 80 mph speeds for all vehicles on stretches of highway deemed appropriate by the Nevada DOT – up from

75 mph. SB2 authorizes the state DOT to make the switch in posted speeds starting Oct. 1.

State lawmakers approved a measure that addresses the observance of daylight saving time. AJR4 urges the U.S. Congress to enact legislation allowing states to establish daylight saving time as the standard time throughout the calendar year.


Gov. Susana Martinez vetoed a bill that sought to authorize voters in counties and municipalities to decide whether to set an additional tax on diesel purchases of up to 2 cents per gallon. The state’s six largest counties already have the tax authority.

The governor did sign into law a bill to extend the overweight zone at the ports in Antelope Wells, Columbus and Santa Teresa. Previously SB52, the new law extends the zone from six miles to 12 miles for loads with a gross weight up to 96,000 pounds. An exception forbids the extension of the overweight zone to roads east of Santa Teresa.


A new law establishes the theft of truck, rail or container cargo as a specific offense and imposes escalating fines and punishment based on the value of goods. SB1828 takes effect Sept. 1.


Gov. Jay Inslee signed into law a $16 billion transportation package that includes a bill to increase the state’s fuel tax rate by 11.9 cents per gallon to 49.4 cents over two years. Vehicle registration fees will also be increased. LL