Bilik does it again
Shell crowns first two-time winner of Rotella SuperRigs contest

Contestants competed for $10,000 in cash and prizes, plus an opportunity to appear in the 2004 Rotella SuperRigs calendar. The contest was sponsored by Shell Rotella T engine oil. Judges scored the rigs on exterior appearance, design, detail and workmanship. Only working trucks operating in interstate or intrastate commerce were eligible. State DOT authority or ICC numbers on the truck were required for proof of entry.

When the panel of four judges completed their voting at this year’s Rotella SuperRigs contest, all three of the Best of Show winners were OOIDA members.

Vladimir Bilik Jr. of Santa Clarita, CA, was named Best of Show winner. Bilik also won the top prize in 2001. His black, orange and heavily chromed 2001 Peterbilt 379 tractor-trailer, known as “Peterod,” features a hot rod theme, complete with a chrome kickstand and a stainless steel undercarriage covering that extended from the transmission to the rear trailer axle.

Rusty Wyrick of Mansfield, OH, was the runner up winner for Best of Show. His 1998 Western Star features a Mardi Gras theme. John O’Rourke Jr. of Hammonton, NJ, was third with his 1990 Pete 379.

Braving an opening day of heavy rain followed by two days of strong winds and hot sun, more than 90 contestants from 23 states and four Canadian provinces participated in the 21st annual Rotella SuperRigs Truck Beauty Contest June 19-21 at the TravelCenters of America truckstop in Lodi, OH.

In the other categories, there were more OOIDA members than not in the winner’s circle.

Truckers competed for awards and an opportunity to have their rig appear in the 2004 Rotella SuperRigs calendar. The 2004 calendars will be available in November 2003 through Shell distributors, and via the Internet at www.ROTELLA.com.

1st Vladimir Bilik Jr., Santa Clarita, CA; ’01 Peterbilt 379
2nd Rusty Wyrick, Mansfield, OH; ‘98 Western Star
3rd John O ’Rourke Jr., Hammonton, NJ; ’90 Peterbilt 379

1st Mark Kienbaum, New Molstein, WI; ’00 Peterbilt 359
2nd Brad Eaton, Hampton, MN; ’03 Peterbilt 379
3rd William A. Sandvik, Valley Center, CA; ’98 Peterbilt 379
4th Jody and Laurie Laroue, Sault Ste. Marie, MN; ’00 Freightliner Classic XL
5th Jake Eilen, Hampton, MN; ’03 Peterbilt 379

1st Sam Watson, Weston, WV; ’74 Kenworth W900A
2nd Rick Walker, Fort Lupton, CO; ’53 Peterbilt 350-A
3rd Larry and Kim Dyck, Winnipeg, Manitoba; ’87 Peterbilt 359
4th David Marcotte, Momence, IL; ’92 Peterbilt 379
5th Billy Baker, St. Catherines, Ontario; ’82 Peterbilt

1st Harvey and Karen Zander, St. Louis Park, MN; ’03 International 9900 IX
2nd Shelley and Robert Brinker, Grayling, MI; ’00 Freightliner Classic XL
3rd Brian Jones, North Brunswick, NJ; ’99 Kenworth W900L
4th Mike Schoen, Median, OH; ’95 Freightliner Classic
5th Tony and Robin Bartels; Kahoka, MO; ’94 Peterbilt 379

1st Arthur Boisclair, Fall River, MA; ’01 Kenworth W900